Serving this region for over 25 years
Call today for a FREE Consultation. 1-888-275-2620

Speeding Ticket

Sooner or later, everyone receives a speeding ticket.

Speeding Ticket

Here is how to deal with a speeding ticket.

Hire a lawyer to handle your SPEEDING TICKET!

Below are some questions and answers that should be helpful.

Q: Do I need a lawyer for a speeding ticket?

A: In order to get the best result with reducing points
and/or reducing fines, always hire an experienced traffic ticket lawyer.

Q: Will I have to go to Court for my speeding ticket?

A: No. In most cases the lawyer will resolve  tickets and
other traffic charges without you having to go to Court.

Q: What courts does your law firm handle?

A: Any court in New York state.
Call us to discuss your court.

Q: Will my insurance rate go up with a speeding ticket?

A: Probably yes. A speeding conviction
(or other moving violation) goes onto your driving record.
If you are insured in New York, some violations
can affect your insurance.

For out-of-state drivers, there is no simple answer.
New York State reports most moving violations to
the “Drivers License Compact”, and this can affect
insurance rates in your home state – even if the
same violation would not affect NY insurance.

For most states it looks like NY speeding tickets
(and other traffic convictions) will affect your
insurance rates and driving record.
We have seen NY tickets on driving records for
a number of states, including New Jersey, Ohio,
Florida, North Carolina, Virginia, Texas, California,
Connecticut, Massachusetts, and quite a few other states.

New York also reports moving violations of Quebec and
Ontario drivers directly to those provinces.
Call us to discuss how we can help protect
your home state (or province) driving record.

For New York drivers who get out-of-state tickets,
these generally will not affect you. However, tickets
from Quebec and Ontario can affect a NY driving record.
It is always possible that your insurance company
will find out about an out-of-state violation,
and if they do, your rates might go up.

When our lawyers negotiate plea bargains, we do
our best to minimize the impact on your insurance rates.
We will try to get you a reduction to a non-moving
violation with no points, which does not affect your
insurance. If that fails, there is at least one
articular 2-point violation that does not seem to
affect insurance, and we will try for that.
For out-of-state drivers, we might seek a reduction
to something that has points in New York but not
in your state or province.


Q: Can we dismiss or reduce a speeding ticket or traffic charge?
A: Typically yes. There are many variables.
One variable includes your prior driving record.
Another variable is how many tickets did you receive.

There are different types of traffic courts in NY.
Some are called Traffic Violations Bureaus.
Some are village courts. Some are criminal courts.
These courts prosecute speeding tickets differently.
One court might charge a lot more than another for
the same speeding ticket.

Q: What is the point system?
A: There is a chart located here:

Driver Violation Points chart

When you get convicted of a moving violation the
DMV records points on your New York record
(even if you don’t have a NY license).
All moving violations are at least two points.
Most are three points or more.
Speeding tickets range from three to eleven points.
New York has a surcharge of $100 per year for
three years if you get six points, plus $25 per
year for each additional point. That works out to
$300 for six points, $450 for eight points,
and $600 for ten points.

This table:

Driver Violation Points chart

shows the point values assigned to moving traffic violations.
The “points” are assessed against your driving record based
on the date you committed the violation, not the date you
were convicted in court. If you accumulate 11 or more points
in 18 months, you will be called to a DMV hearing,
after which your license may be suspended or revoked.
You will be offered the option of waiving the
hearing or accepting a definite period of suspension.

Some license revocations and suspensions are mandatory
and do not depend on points. These include three speeding
violations within 18 months, and convictions involving alcohol or drugs.

Privacy Policy: